Page 1 of 1

Attaching imported objects to a wall

Posted: May 16th, 2017, 9:42 pm
by PGHinTX
I would like to add an attic vent to a gable; also a lantern to an exterior wall. I found both such objects from the menu: Import/Trimble 3D Warehouse. They download OK, but I cannot figure out how to insert the attic vent in the gable; nor how to attach the lantern to an exterior wall. Both of these downloaded objects just pass through the walls (and they also are close to the ground and can't be raised). Can the Trimble objects be attached through or onto walls?

Paul

Re: Attaching imported objects to a wall

Posted: May 31st, 2017, 3:51 am
by VirtHome
Hi Paul,
When importing objects from Trimble they sometimes download without you be able to resize or elevate the object. To get around this click on the object and go to 'Arrange' on your menu bar, once the menu drops down choose 'merge'. This will now give the object properties so you can elevate, resize and glue your object into your plan by using the inspector.

Re: Attaching imported objects to a wall

Posted: June 1st, 2017, 6:43 pm
by PGHinTX
Dear VirtHome,

First, thanks for replying with suggestions about my question!

I tried following your advice, but the "Merge option is grey'ed out under "Arrange", and not selectable. Attached is a screen shot showing how I would like to place the "round attic vent" (found on Trimble) into (onto) the gable over the garage.

screenshot_3618 copy.jpg
screenshot_3618 copy.jpg (125.28 KiB) Viewed 3454 times

Re: Attaching imported objects to a wall

Posted: June 11th, 2017, 3:35 am
by DimA
Hello Paul!

If you would like just hung your object on a wall then you have 'Glue by' option from 'bottom' to 'back' see more here: https://www.livehome3d.com/support/lh3d-help/objects_furniture.html

If your imported object is a kind of window then you have to change its type to 'Window' using Type&Representation dialog:
https://www.livehome3d.com/support/lh3d ... ation.html

Re: Attaching imported objects to a wall

Posted: June 12th, 2017, 8:51 pm
by PGHinTX
Thank you! The "Glue by" worked to set the attic vent onto the wall (instead of through it); and then reading about CMD/ALT solved my problem with raising it higher than the ground floor (onto the roof gable)! I appreciate your help!!