Get BackUp 2.5.2 why a Temp Folder appear on the Clone.

edbeta
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: February 22nd, 2010, 9:56 pm
Location: Montreal , Canada
Contact:

Postby edbeta » July 28th, 2013, 9:48 am

Machintosh HD dont show this folder but the Clone Hard-Drive have this folder in plain view why , all work fine but should i redo the clone or do something so Macintosh HD and the Clone hard-drive show the same after cloning is done …

Applications, Library, System, Users are normal folders to see at root of Macintosh HD so why the Clone add the tmp folder to this i am curious and nervous too.

Hope i ask in a clear question , have a nice day.
Last edited by edbeta on July 28th, 2013, 12:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Production D. Goyette - Production Video Corporatif.
Distribution : DVD / BLU-RAY / WEB / SSD / HDD.
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Postby Nick » July 29th, 2013, 3:47 am

Hi

A tmp item (actually, not a folder but a link to the tmp folder) must be present on the original boot drive. Normally it is hidden in Finder. The file copying procedure could change its property to "visible".

Nick
edbeta
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: February 22nd, 2010, 9:56 pm
Location: Montreal , Canada
Contact:

Postby edbeta » July 29th, 2013, 6:10 am

Can i make this folder invisible again in the finder when i click the Clone Hard-Drive.
Production D. Goyette - Production Video Corporatif.
Distribution : DVD / BLU-RAY / WEB / SSD / HDD.
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Postby Nick » July 29th, 2013, 7:00 am

In the Terminal.app located in Applications/Utilities, paste this command line:
sudo chflags -h hidden /tmp
and press Return. You will be asked to input your admin's password. To undo, you can use:
sudo chflags -h nohidden /tmp

Nick
edbeta
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: February 22nd, 2010, 9:56 pm
Location: Montreal , Canada
Contact:

Postby edbeta » July 29th, 2013, 7:05 pm

Wow that solve the problem , i still have another question : When i boot from the Clone i see on the Clone Hard-Drive ; Applications,Library,System and Users so all is fine but when i boot from Macintosh Hard-Drive i see also a Folder Named dev on the Clone who is not visible when booted from the Clone can i have another Terminal Command Line to make it also invisible when booted from Macintosch Hard-Drive.

After that i think all my request would have found a positive solution.

Have a nice day.
Production D. Goyette - Production Video Corporatif.
Distribution : DVD / BLU-RAY / WEB / SSD / HDD.
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Postby Nick » July 30th, 2013, 2:24 am

/dev is a system folder. Normally, it is hidden. To hide it, you can run this command as you did before:
sudo chflags -h hidden /dev

Nick
edbeta
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: February 22nd, 2010, 9:56 pm
Location: Montreal , Canada
Contact:

Postby edbeta » July 30th, 2013, 5:32 am

I have run this command line both when booted from Macintosh HD or the Clone HD but this empty folder remain visible when booted from Macintosh HD if i double-click the Clone HD to open-it, i suggest you fix this when doing an update to your software.

In the update release your software could manage this so invisible stay invisible.

Have a nice day.
Last edited by edbeta on July 30th, 2013, 5:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Production D. Goyette - Production Video Corporatif.
Distribution : DVD / BLU-RAY / WEB / SSD / HDD.
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Postby Nick » July 31st, 2013, 2:41 am

Hi

We will work on this issue. I checked my cloned drive and found that hidden system folders remain hidden.

Nick
edbeta
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: February 22nd, 2010, 9:56 pm
Location: Montreal , Canada
Contact:

Re: Get BackUp 2.5.2 why a Temp Folder appear on the Clone.

Postby edbeta » June 30th, 2014, 10:46 pm

Just done a Clone and the dev folder still visible any way to hide this folder is welcome .....
Production D. Goyette - Production Video Corporatif.
Distribution : DVD / BLU-RAY / WEB / SSD / HDD.
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Get BackUp 2.5.2 why a Temp Folder appear on the Clone.

Postby Nick » July 1st, 2014, 3:40 am

Hi

Hidden files can be shown because:
1. Finder stopped hiding them. In this case, your system drive should also show hidden files. To sort out this situation, you need to run two these commands in the Terminal:

Code: Select all

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -boolean false
killall Finder


To execute a Terminal command, open Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app. Copy and paste a command, and finally hit the Return key.

2. The cloning utility failed to transfer file attributes to the destination drive. To hide the 'dev' folder, copy and paste the following command to Terminal (there must be a space at the end):

Code: Select all

sudo chflags hidden

Then drag the 'dev' folder from the Finder and drop into the Terminal window. By doing this, you'll add he folder's path to the command. Then press the Return button. Note that you'll be asked to input the admin's password.

Nick
edbeta
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: February 22nd, 2010, 9:56 pm
Location: Montreal , Canada
Contact:

Re: Get BackUp 2.5.2 why a Temp Folder appear on the Clone.

Postby edbeta » July 1st, 2014, 7:05 am

Thank-you , i have to do Ignore the ownership for the Clone Volume to apply the terminal command and after put the ownership back to normal state for the Clone Volume, so all is back to normal again , cant say why this happen but now all is fixed.
Production D. Goyette - Production Video Corporatif.
Distribution : DVD / BLU-RAY / WEB / SSD / HDD.
edbeta
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: February 22nd, 2010, 9:56 pm
Location: Montreal , Canada
Contact:

Re: Get BackUp 2.5.2 why a Temp Folder appear on the Clone.

Postby edbeta » June 14th, 2015, 6:26 am

I now use ONYX to make dev folder invisible after Get Backup Pro Cloning easier than typing a command line.
Your cloning software is the best with a few option not available on other cloning softwares and very low cost.
Your software do what is suppose to do fast and hope you will continu to develop it in years to come on os x.
Production D. Goyette - Production Video Corporatif.
Distribution : DVD / BLU-RAY / WEB / SSD / HDD.

Return to “Get Backup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests