Not shipping from Europe/EU has cost me over $30US!!

Any other suggestions you may have
philipcaplan

Postby philipcaplan » October 2nd, 2007, 2:59 am

Dear BeLight Software

I'm a very happy Swift Publisher user, and having downloaded ArtText I found that most of its features seemed to work in SP *without* the demo watermark being present.

However, I didn't know what features I was missing, and anyway I want to support your company because your products are good and you deserve to be supported.

So I purchased ArtText from your website. I could have opted for the download version, but the retail version was only a little more (though I don't know if the 50 free fonts would be any use to me) but I very much like to have a box I can put on the shelf, so I opted for that.

I'm in the EU (UK) so I gave my VAT number and was charged VAT on the purchase (no problem, as a registered trader I get the VAT rebated on my next quarterly return). I noticed that shipping was $25US for outside USA, 8$ inside. Oh well, just a few dollars more!

But as the 2 weeks for delivery expired, it came yesterday. Or almost.

The Royal Mail had it for me, but because it came from the USA with a declared value on the Customs sticker saying "$50" they require me to pay about $10 UK VAT before they'll deliver it! I've already paid VAT!! Never mind, I'll get it back as described above.

BUT BUT BUT there's a handling fee of $16 (£8) for the collection of that additional VAT, which is only being charged because they think it's a US product paid for in the US!!!!

BELIGHT -- I'm not going to buy products from you again if you use SWREG to ship my goods from the USA and I'm going to have these extra expenses and delays.

Please investigate whether you can ship to European countries from inside Europe, or even better inside the EU to EU. Please let me know (and make a big splash of it on your website).

A less happier customer than I was!!! PHILIP CAPLAN
Andrew