wall thickness

tammy yum yum
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: March 31st, 2011, 12:46 pm

Postby tammy yum yum » March 31st, 2011, 1:00 pm

I would be really grateful if someone can tell me how to draw a wall from the internal surface dimensions and not the centre line of the wall.

Basically i have measured my kitchen and when i input the wall lengths and turn a corner it seems to reduce the intended length by half the thickness of the wall?!

I hope someone can help!

Thanks

Tamsin
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Postby Nick » April 1st, 2011, 2:56 am

Hi Tamsin,

There is no another way to draw wall. you can use the Measurement tool to adjust the wall size.

Nick
tammy yum yum
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: March 31st, 2011, 12:46 pm

Postby tammy yum yum » April 1st, 2011, 3:07 am

So there must be a fault with the program as then if you have to do this?

I've tried using the Measurement tool. I readjust walls to the correct lengths.. but when I check again to make sure they are exact its changed the lengths again or the alignment goes!

I noticed I wasn't the only person having this problem - can you let me know if this can be fixed?
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Postby Nick » April 1st, 2011, 5:15 am

We will work on this issue.

Nick
tammy yum yum
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: March 31st, 2011, 12:46 pm

Postby tammy yum yum » April 1st, 2011, 7:15 am

Do you know how long it will take, if it can be resolved?

In your opinion should I find another option?

Thank you for your help, T
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Postby Nick » April 1st, 2011, 7:37 am

I don't know how long this can take the development of a new way to draw walls.

The accuracy of adjusting the wall length: everything depends on what way you are using, and the value of inaccuracy. I need to see an example to tell you if there is a bug or the limitation of calculations.

What kind of option are you looking for? Another way to control the wall length?

Nick
yeklusas
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: April 2nd, 2011, 11:17 am

Postby yeklusas » April 2nd, 2011, 11:23 am

I agree. I don’t like that when I measure a home for carpet or for building a basement that the measurements are not the interior of the walls but the center of the walls. Is there a way to change this? I only deal with interior of the walls and the green line on the inside should be the interior measurement that i measured.
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Postby Nick » April 2nd, 2011, 12:11 pm

See post #2.

Nick
mxmoore
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: February 17th, 2018, 10:36 am

Re: wall thickness

Postby mxmoore » February 17th, 2018, 10:45 am

I cannot figure out how to draw a wall, say 10'-6 ½" in length.....can I input the length value? As in AutoCAD?
mxmoore
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: February 17th, 2018, 10:36 am

Re: wall thickness

Postby mxmoore » February 17th, 2018, 10:45 am

I cannot figure out how to draw a wall, say 10'-6 ½" in length.....can I input the length value? As in AutoCAD?
User avatar
Igor Lizunov
Member
Posts: 132
Joined: February 27th, 2017, 3:54 am

Re: wall thickness

Postby Igor Lizunov » March 28th, 2018, 9:33 am

mxmoore wrote:I cannot figure out how to draw a wall, say 10'-6 ½" in length.....can I input the length value? As in AutoCAD?


You can snap a dimension object to your wall, then turn on Affect underlying objects option on Object Properties tab and insert your desired size:

Image

Return to “Live Interior 3D”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests