Variable wall heights on a single story

jonsap

Variable wall heights on a single story

Postby jonsap » September 6th, 2016, 2:48 pm

From what I have seen, there have been a number of topics on this and I don't think there is a good solution, but I wanted to check. I have been using LI3D for about 6 months to help design a southwestern style home. They are often on one level/story, but there are as many as 4 or 5 different wall and ceiling heights. Wall openings have been discussed and don't work. I also want to be able to extend some walls above the ceiling height ( a requirement in some developments). I think the ability to make these types of changes has been requested.

Have I missed something and is there a way to individually specify the height of individual walls in a room on a single story and have the ceiling be at some set level such as 10 feet?

If not, how high on the priority list is this for a new release?

Thank you.
Nick

Re: Variable wall heights on a single story

Postby Nick » September 7th, 2016, 3:15 am

Hi,

The wall height is still universal for all walls on the same floor (except for Loft walls). As a replacement for a shorter wall, you can use a 3D block from the object library, or custom floor object with customized elevation.

Walls of the Loft type can have different height which is defined by roof height and shape. If rooms with different height are located on the upper floor, you can create variable wall/ceiling height by adjusting the roof configuration.

We don't plan to support arbitrary height for individual walls so far – they will still reside between the nearest floor and ceiling. But some improvements will be made in the future version.

Nick
jonsap

Postby jonsap » September 9th, 2016, 8:13 am

Thank you I will do some experiments.
jonsap

Postby jonsap » September 15th, 2016, 1:35 pm

Nick wrote:Hi,