"No Name" in Print list

Tankmaster

Postby Tankmaster » November 23rd, 2009, 9:05 pm

I am using this program to build and print inventory labels with bar codes. I am able to create a list of all my parts numbers, along with a description of each and even our company name in a text box.
What i need now is to be able to print a mix of labels as needed when we process orders. This seems to be somewhat harder as i have not found a way to select just the labels needed for one order. It looks like it can be done, but in order to import the data i have created tab delimited text files which when imported every label comes in as NO NAME. If someone could tell me the correct way to import so i can see either a part number or item name in the print list i am sure i could then select the individual labels to print. I can export from my business software as simple text, excel, tab delimited or comma separated. I am not a pro at working with these kinds of files, but with a tip i could possible create a list that is more useful. I just bought this today and it seems very capable so far.
Nick

Postby Nick » November 24th, 2009, 3:57 am

Hi Tankmaster,

The side panel in the main window was aimed to work with contacts. The personal names are normally displayed here. Working with your data, you probably leave the First Name and Last Name data fields empty, so the program has nothing to display.

What to do:
When you import, the program displays the dialog where you match your data to the internal data fields. In your source spreadsheet, there must be a column that lets you distinguish the data records (for instance, the product name). You should link it to the First Name or Last Name data filed in the import dialog of Labels & Addresses. Than this information will appear in the side panel so that you can select the necessary items to print.

Nick
Tankmaster

Postby Tankmaster » November 25th, 2009, 5:43 pm

Nick,