Strange ZIP code

Tatoz
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: November 17th, 2009, 4:41 pm

Postby Tatoz » November 17th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Hi,
Just bought this software and I'm amazed by how powerful and time saving this can be. Great program.
Just one little issue so far and I can't find any thread that sorts out my problem.

I've imported several address from an EXCEL file but all the US ZIP codes appear with a .0 after the 5 digit actual code.

You can see it in the following picture

Image

Any idea?
Thanks for your help.
Tatoz
Last edited by Tatoz on November 17th, 2009, 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Postby Nick » November 18th, 2009, 4:39 am

Hi Tatoz,

You want to say that ".0" in the end isn't present in the Excel file?

Nick
Tatoz
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: November 17th, 2009, 4:41 pm

Postby Tatoz » November 18th, 2009, 7:32 am

Hi Nick,

That's correct. The ZIP code in the Excel fine is without any .0, all cells are formatted as numbers with no decimals, so I'm wondering where the ".0" extension comes from.

Thanks
Tatoz
Last edited by Tatoz on November 18th, 2009, 7:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Jean-Jacques Boutaud
Member
Posts: 1639
Joined: July 10th, 2006, 2:29 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Postby Jean-Jacques Boutaud » November 18th, 2009, 7:53 am

Hi
Try to set format for these cells (column) to general/text/string.
Maybe LA converts integer numbers to decimal ones?
JJBee, Président (à vie) du G.R.O.I.N.
Secrétaire général : iMac C2D 2.16GHz
Secrétaire adjoint : MacBook Pro 17" Unibody 3.06GHz
http://belightcommunity.free.fr/BeLight Community website
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Postby Nick » November 18th, 2009, 10:20 am

I've managed to reproduce the problem. The ".0" extension is added during the import process. Selecting different formats for the zip code column doesn't help. The only possible workaround I see is to export the data from Excel to a text file. Then import this file into Labels & Addresses.

Tatoz, if you are going to print a few addresses at the moment, remove the ".0" manually in your document. In the future update we plan to fix this problem.

Nick
Tatoz
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: November 17th, 2009, 4:41 pm

Postby Tatoz » November 18th, 2009, 1:38 pm

Nick,

I'll try to import from a text file, I can't work out manually a list of more than 1.000 records.
Please keep me in the loop with the bug fix.
Thanks

Tatoz
Nick
Member
Posts: 7241
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 3:13 am
Location: Odessa, Ukraine
Contact:

Postby Nick » November 19th, 2009, 6:50 am

You can subscribe to the newsletter:
http://www.belightsoft.com/products/labelsaddresses/news/newssubscribe.php

Or check the forum for the news.

Nick

Return to “Labels & Addresses / Mail Factory”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests