How do I make font bold?

Dead End King
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: September 26th, 2014, 9:49 pm

How do I make font bold?

Postby Dead End King » September 26th, 2014, 9:52 pm

There is no option in the text box to make font bold. I don't understand why. Even this forum has an option to make font bold.

I really need a certain font to be bold to maintain artistic coherence. Someone please help me.
Jean-Jacques Boutaud
Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: July 10th, 2006, 2:29 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How do I make font bold?

Postby Jean-Jacques Boutaud » September 27th, 2014, 8:04 am

Hi Dead End King
You make some text bold using the Format>Font>Bold menu item (or its shortcut Command-B).
Note that some fonts have no bold "version":
Gill Sans has one (included in OS X) but Futura (as included In OS X) hasn't.
Italic works the same way.
JJBee, Président (à vie) du G.R.O.I.N.
Secrétaire général : iMac C2D 2.16GHz
Secrétaire adjoint : MacBook Pro 17" Unibody 3.06GHz
http://belightcommunity.free.fr/BeLight Community website
Dead End King
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: September 26th, 2014, 9:49 pm

Re: How do I make font bold?

Postby Dead End King » September 27th, 2014, 9:07 am

Thank you for the reply. I'm curious why there is no option to bold Futura when I'm able to bold it in Photoshop Elements for example?
Jean-Jacques Boutaud
Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: July 10th, 2006, 2:29 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How do I make font bold?

Postby Jean-Jacques Boutaud » September 27th, 2014, 9:43 am

Hi
Well, maybe should I use a better example because if Apple doesn't include a Futura bold font in OS X (at least in 10.7 and previous versions), it includes a Condensed Extra Bold font, so maybe, Photoshop Elements uses this one in place of a real Futura bold font that some foundries provide (Linotype is one of them).
Another reason may be that some applications provide their own way to compute a bold (or italic) version when a real bold/italic font is not available in a computer. OpenOffice is an example of this. This may cause problems when printing (especially using postscript) and this is not recommended (OpenOffice displays a warning message when it tries to compute a "fake" bold/italic font).
JJBee, Président (à vie) du G.R.O.I.N.
Secrétaire général : iMac C2D 2.16GHz
Secrétaire adjoint : MacBook Pro 17" Unibody 3.06GHz
http://belightcommunity.free.fr/BeLight Community website
Dead End King
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: September 26th, 2014, 9:49 pm

Re: How do I make font bold?

Postby Dead End King » September 27th, 2014, 9:57 am

I think I understand, thank you for going in-depth. I'm a musician self-publishing my music and there's a lot to wrap my head around regarding the digital layouts for the CD inserts. I suppose I could save the bolded text in white over transparent background as an image, and just import it into Disc Cover 3.
Jean-Jacques Boutaud
Member
Posts: 1640
Joined: July 10th, 2006, 2:29 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How do I make font bold?

Postby Jean-Jacques Boutaud » September 27th, 2014, 11:07 am

Hi
If Photoshop Elements can find and use a Futura bold font in your computer, most applications should be able to do the same.
Maybe:
#1 This Futura bold font has a slightly different name and so, is at a different place when listed in an alphabetical order and is considered as a different font.
#2 Adobe applications put fonts in a specific place.
You should look at the Font Book (Applications Folder) to see if you can find it (there's a search textfield at the top right of the main window).

If you want to use text from PS Elements to DC or another applications, try to export/save your text as Pdf.
This should make easier to resize it.
But the best way to get the best result is, of course, to get a real bold font.
JJBee, Président (à vie) du G.R.O.I.N.
Secrétaire général : iMac C2D 2.16GHz
Secrétaire adjoint : MacBook Pro 17" Unibody 3.06GHz
http://belightcommunity.free.fr/BeLight Community website
Dead End King
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: September 26th, 2014, 9:49 pm

Re: How do I make font bold?

Postby Dead End King » September 27th, 2014, 11:51 am

Well the thing is, in Elements, it's not even a "Futura bold" font, it's just Futura, and I can choose to click the B in the text box and Bold it.

Return to “Disc Cover”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests